In the (420)

And the 6 idiots traveled to Colorado…

The Six Idiots from Rownak on Vimeo.

Still reeling from the highs of my recent trip to Colorado. (Altitude sickness is a v real thing!) I have never seen more beautiful sights in my life than I have in those four days! Do yourself a favor and go visit asap.

This trip has been in the works since the good ol’ days of college! My friends and I have always wanted to follow through but schedules and blah blah!

AND THEN FINALLY THE STARS ALIGNED IN MARCH 2017 AND MY LIFE WAS CHANGED FOR THE BETTER!

So if you need some inspo for your trip to Colorado ASAP, here are deets and pics of our very ambitious itinerary!

Day 1: Reunite the 6 idiots

We all had very late flights to Colorado except for Zeff. He drove up from Odessa.

Group 1: Zeff from TX + Hasaan from Cali (midday)

Group 2: Anusha from ATX (9:30 pm)

Group 3: Row, Taj, and Humza from HTX (10:15pm)

One after the other we arrived in Denver. Three of us (Humza, Tajwar, and I) flew in from Houston together. We were the last flight in so we picked up the party car and met the first two groups at… WAL MART (Bc our cabin in the woods was in the middle of no where so we had to stock up on groceries and SNAAACKKKKSSS obvs.)

DSC06203(“Everyone Blinks”)

DSC06205

DSC06206Shout out to her silver shoes………………..

DSC06208

We got to our gorgeous cabin at around 2am….the drive up the mountain to the cabin was terrifying! But also beautiful so I guess it was worth it??? I did not take as many photos of the house as I wish I did. But if you’re lucky enough to follow the others on Snapchat, I’m sure you saw all of their variations of MTV Cribs: Colorado edition.

DSC06694DSC06695

DSC06474

Day 2: Colorado Springs

Zeff described us as having “a gross overestimation of our skills” and seriously wow I was so humbled from the first day.

Day 1 was to get acclimated to the high altitude and have a really easy hike around Colorado Springs.

So we drove to the top of Pike’s Peak (14,115′) and I had no idea I would be so affected from just driving up. I also did no research on anything and actually wanted to hike up to the summit… in one day… (I’ve just revealed how big of an idiot I am)

OhmyGOD it was ridiculously cold and windy at the top! I had a migraine and was so dizzy when we were at the top. I’ve never been so helpless and weak from doing absolutely nothing. I felt as if the wind could knock me over if I stood close enough to the edge. Seriously, that wind was really powerful and I was dizzy enough. But the views were fantastic!

DSC06234DSC06240DSC06242DSC06261DSC06275DSC06281DSC06297DSC06299DSC06306DSC06307DSC06316

As soon as we drove down, my migraine ceased. The weather was FREAKING FANTASTIC. And to the Garden of the Gods we went!

It was a very easy hike tbh and well worth the views. I felt like I was seeing all of the places from my geology textbook. That’s not saying much though. I feel like I look at pics from geology anytime I go hiking.

IMG_1637IMG_1650IMG_1690IMG_1698IMG_1868IMG_1872DSC06339“Rownak pls don’t do another photoshoot pls”

DSC06340“Nah Hasaan, we r 2 h0t 2 n0t”

DSC06347DSC06363“Date a girl that can climb”

DSC06376DSC06389DSC06402“TOUCH CHEEKS”

It was a great first day and we ended with a v v avg Thai meal. And then went home and talked about our feelings and bonded and best friends 5evr XOXOXO AWWhhhh

Day 3: Breckenridge

OF COURSE WE HAD TO DO SNOW ACTIVITIES R U SRS

Snowmobiling in Storm Mountain

ABC_1158DSC06415DSC06442Photo Mar 24, 2 59 42 PMPhoto Mar 24, 3 02 50 PMPhoto Mar 24, 3 04 24 PMPhoto Mar 24, 3 05 10 PMPhoto Mar 24, 3 07 04 PM (1)20170324_131422IMG_1884

Snow everywhere you look. It was such a magical sight. Oof I miss all of it. When you think of a winter wonderland, you’re thinking of Breckenridge.

After snowmobiling we went to Pepino’s Pizzeria WHERE they had zabiha gyro. Random but it was great! Hasaan reassured us that the snow sledding place would close at 5pm so we took our time with lunch and maxin and relaxin…

IMG_1888.JPG

And then we got to the sledding place………and it closed at 4. GOD HASAAN Y. WHYYYYYY. I may never forgive him but I have to learn to move forward?? So my fwends and I found a random park and had A SNOWBALL FIGHTTTTT.

What are we, 4 years old? NO WE ARE FROM TEXAS AND WE WANNA HAVE FUN DON’T JUDGE. 

DSC06450DSC06451DSC06456DSC06463DSC06465DSC06466DSC06469

On our way back home we stopped for some ice cream. No clue why we decided to have ice cream in 40 degree weather but it just felt right.

IMG_1890IMG_1891

This was supposed to be an early night in. But I don’t think we got back until 10 pm. After showering and changing, all of us (except Zeff) went and had a star party! Humza had one of those high powered laser pointers that looked like it was touching the stars. It was awesome! We found so many constellations. I haven’t done that since we were in Big Bend. Sigh, memz ❤

Zeff was making steak for all of us……… sry Zeff but u r d best

Humza and I wanted to take pictures of the stars so we played around with my camera settings and captured some pretty pics.

DSC06471DSC06476DSC06483

A little after midnight, dinner was served because Zeff is d best and then we bonded and talked about feelings and played a confusing board game.

Day 4: Rocky Mountain National Park

THIS WAS THE DAY I WAS PUNCHED IN THE FACE BY MY PHYSICAL LIMITS. I like to think I have a fairly active lifestyle and have done strenuous hikes in the past with no problems. BUT NEVER IN THE FREAKING SNOW. ANOTHER BEAST ENTIRELY.

Our goal was to do a summit lolol (so that didn’t happen). We arrived at a store to rent snowshoes at around 9am and told the man which trails we were planning to go on. He redirected us to a more “manageable” trail. He told us that we were way too late for a summit. If that was our goal, we should have started at 5am. Again, novices, all of us. (We had no clue)

He told us to do Sky Pond and we would be able to see 3 lakes on our way to the top. We felt pretty overconfident in our abilities and were completely sure that we would make it to the top and back before 5pm. (LOL WE R IDIOT. WE R ANT)

We only made it to Loch Vale haha and the winter trail was INTENSE. But OHMYGOD IT WAS ALL SO BEAUTIFUL. God I wish I could go again and again and again. I envy the locals that visit the park on a weekly basis.

DSC06487“So stupid and so happy prehike”

DSC06503“Fashion forward in the mountii”

DSC06669.JPG“v niiiice”

DSC06517“Part time skiiers”

DSC06520“Part time models”

DSC06509“Full time lovers awwwwhh”

DSC06532“Guys idk why fobs do this pose??” *does this pose throughout the whole trip*

DSC06553“MASHA ALLAH TAJWAR. YOU ARE A BEAUTIFUL GIRL WITH BEAUTIFUL HAIR”

DSC06563DSC06599DSC06601LOOK AT HOW MUCH SNOW.

DSC06605DSC06608DSC06615DSC06625DSC06637IM STANDING ON TOP OF A FROZEN MFKING LAKE WTF

DSC06664DSC06674“Aww man how are we going to pray. Do you just happen to have a waterproof portable prayer rug…” …well actuallyyyyy…

DSC06682

Photo Mar 25, 4 47 24 PM.jpg

Subhan Allah Subhan Allah Subhan Allah

Day 5: Denver and BOUNCE

IMG_1930 - CopyBefore leaving Drake we had to stop at the hotel that inspired Stephen King to write The Shining

DSC06738And I got to go to prom with Anusha on the sleigh. Oh what fun it is to Prom AMIRITE??

DSC06739DSC06758Sisters 5evr ❤

IMG_1942 - CopyHasaan is our biggest fan lmao

IMG_1938 - Copy

DSC06730.JPGDSC06769ILU JEPP U R SO PRESH

IMG_1962 - CopyIMG_1965 - CopyIce Cream was a big part of this trip tbh

DSC06773

And then we all flew out and had to part ways 😥

YAMAROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

FIN

Leave a Reply

